STOP! You need to know about these pigmented shadows | Makeup with Rising Phoenix Swatches + Review

It has been established by now that I am a big fan of eyeshadows. I love shadows in every form – be it power or cream. The affection for powder eyeshadows continues to grow, even until today. Add pigmented and blendable into the concoction, and you have me swooning over it. The same can be said for Makeup with Rising Phoenix, a local Indie brand from Sunny Singapore. 

DSC_0050

The handmade, vegan and cruelty-free brand prides itself on creating quality products which allow you to embrace the beautiful unique you. With the holiday season fast approaching, their shadows are the perfect addition to any beauty enthusiast’s collection. I’ll let the swatches do the talking.

DSC_0046

I have accumulated a series of mattes and satins over the years from a variety of palettes. Perhaps, that is why I am not easily excited when I see mattes in single pans. But the same cannot be said for metallic or duo-chrome shadows. I am a fan of the metallic or duo-chrome finish! I feel that such finishes are highly versatile and can be used to create a variety of looks. 

The shadows are housed in a 26mm tin pan with a total weight of approximately 23g, which is slightly more than a pan shadow from a high street brand. The colour palette chosen here reflects my style – a little gold, a little-burnt copper and some cool tones for days where I am feeling neutral.

DSC_0037

Let us take a moment to appreciate the pigmentation of these shadows. To the touch, the Makeup with Rising Phoenix shadows reminds me of the the Colourpop Supershock shadows. The shadows are soft yet not crumbly. However, I do have to caution you not to apply too much pressure, lest you break them. Pigmentation definitely comes at a cost of shadows being finely milled. The swatches here are the result of a single swipe. 

DSC_0033

If you are afraid of golds but wish to experiment, give Sands of Atlantis a go. This warm-toned gold gives a sublit glow, almost reminiscent of melted gold. Use it as a wash of colour all over or in the centre of your lids for a pop. The Makeup with Rising Phoenix shadows are highly versatile and can be used in multiple ways – such as a lip topper, highlight or even as liquid liner (personally, I use Inglot’s Duraline to create a liquid-like consistency).

Other highly versatile products in the range, include Makeup with Rising Phoenix’s Face Beams. The face beams are slightly larger in size when compared to the shadow pan.

DSC_0052

In fact, I quite appreciate the size. I have yet to finish any highlighter I own. I have hit pan on a few, but that’s about it. This face beam in Lives of Subordinates is not for the faint-hearted. The golden shaft is flattering and I love how the intensity can be built on your faces/eyes.

DSC_0059

The other blinding highlighter I own is Fenty Beauty’s Trophy Wife. At half the price of Trophy Wife, this deserves a place in your collection if you are a fan of gold highlights. 

DSC_0061

While both highlighters seen above have gold undertones, they are unique in their own ways.  A case of same but different, I would say. A little goes a long way, so control that urge for a second dip. 

collage

Overall, the shadows from Makeup with Rising Phoenix do not disappoint. It is highly easy to go overboard and pick up more product than needed. In the look above, Skeletor and Sands of Atlantis are stand out shades which definitely add to any makeup look. I am excited to use these shades for more holiday looks! If you are interested in picking up my recommendations, feel free to check out Makeup with Rising Phoenix  on Instagram at @rising.phoenix.makeup

 I hope that you’ve enjoyed reading this post. For more beauty confessions, feel free to follow me on Instagram at Littlemissconfessions.

Till the next entry, stay safe and fabulous.

yTke77zGc

Leave a comment